

MINUTES Grant Review Meeting Tuesday, 12 March 2024, via Zoom

PANELISTS PRESENT:	Jennie Autonoe, David Kassler, Ivete Martinez, Kalianne Morrison,
	Gretchen Ramlo

- STAFF PRESENT: Anastasia Shartin, Karen Miller
- 9:00am Ms. Shartin, Executive Director, called the meeting to order by welcoming the SEMAC Arts Advisory Panel and representatives of the Southeastern Minnesota arts community who came to observe our process.

Audience members included applicants Trina Brunk, Stephanie Cox, Dawn Zero Erickson, Stena Lieb, Marie Maher, Anthony Matzke, Annette Nawls, Steven J. Schmidt, Jamie Schumann, Al Snyder, and Jacqueline VanRavenhorst.

The Chair outlined the Grant Review procedure as follows.

Welcome to SEMAC's first Grant Review Panel Meeting run via Zoom. Thank you in advance for your patience over any technical issues we may have. As a reminder, observers must keep their microphones off. If anyone disrupts the meeting, I will kick that person out of the meeting.

Today we will be reviewing a total of 28 grant applications. Panelists will discuss each for 5 minutes. Karen will give us a warning when there is one-minute remaining. About half-way through the list, we will take a 10-minute break.

The merit of an application will be discussed considering only the written proposal and submitted materials and all comments will be focused on the three review criteria only. The review criteria are:

- 1) Artistic merit and quality of the project;
- 2) Demand or need for the project by the applicant or by the constituents served;
- 3) Ability of the applicant to accomplish the project they describe.

The following is not part of the review criteria: financial need, how many times the artist has been funded in the past, geographic equitability, or underserved disciplines. Do not compare proposals. Each application must be reviewed on its own merits. Any comments or questions during the discussion period must be tied to one of the three criteria, stating the criterion before making comments. Comments may be opinionated, but please choose your words carefully to provide constructive criticism to help applicants improve their future projects and proposals.

Each panelist will submit their final scores through the on-line grant interface within 30 minutes after the meeting has ended. Scores will be given in each of the three review criteria by assigning numbers from 5 to 1, with 5 being excellent, 4 very good, 3 good,

2 fair, and 1 poor. Reminder to panelists: do not give any application a zero!

Once final scores are submitted, staff will weight each of the raw numbers by multiplying them by the following factors: artistic merit and quality is multiplied by 3; demand or need is multiplied by 2; and ability is multiplied by 1 (remains the same). Staff will then add the total number of points for each proposal and divide that number by the number of panelists scoring the application. The list will be sorted from highest average score to lowest average score. Starting at the top of the list, staff will prepare a final list of proposals based on funding available and present this to the Board at the March 19 meeting for their approval. Awards will be announced on March 20. Do not discuss the projects or artists applying outside of this forum until after the awards have been announced.

If there are no questions, we are ready to begin. I will introduce each application and then open the timed 5-minute discussion of each. Prior to each discussion, I will ask if anyone on the panel has a conflict of interest with that application. If you do, you will be sent to a breakout room for the duration of the discussion.

INDIVIDUAL ARTIST GRANTS

<u>Applicant</u>	<u>County</u>	<u>Request</u>	<u>Recused</u>
Sean Archer	Olmsted	\$5,000	Morrison
Oliver Books	Olmsted	\$5,000	
Trina Brunk	Rice	\$5,000	
Stephanie Cox	Rice	\$3,000	
Arlo Cristofaro	Rice	\$3,000	
Gao Hong Dice	Rice	\$5,000	
Paul Dice	Rice	\$5,000	
Joy Edge	Goodhue	\$3,000	
Dawn Zero Erickson	Goodhue	\$5,000	
Brendon Etter	Rice	\$5,000	
Catherine Friend	Goodhue	\$5,000	
Tim Goodwin	Rice	\$3,000	
Colleen Ihrke	Wabasha	\$5,000	
Daniel Kallman	Rice	\$5,000	Ramlo
Lindsay Krage	Winona	\$3,000	
Martha Larson	Rice	\$3,000	Autonoe
Marie Maher	Olmsted	\$5,000	
Elisha Marin	Freeborn	\$5,000	Ramlo
Jeff McDowell	Goodhue	\$3,000	
Kara Millerhagen	Rice	\$5,000	
Chad Oness	Winona	\$5,000	

<u>Applicant</u>	<u>County</u>	Request Recused
Elizabeth Oness	Winona	\$5,000
Steven J. Schmidt	Olmsted	\$5,000
Jamie Schwaba	Winona	\$5,000
Al Snyder	Houston	\$3,000
LaVonte Thompson	Winona	\$5,000
Jacqueline VanRavenhorst	Houston	\$3,000
John Wells	Goodhue	\$5,000 Ramlo

The grant review adjourned at 11:30am.